2013 College Wrestling: Cliff Keen Las Vegas Invitational

2013 Cliff Keen Invitational
Click the thumbnails below to see the photo sets. USA Wrestling article and full results below and here.


Click to download a high-res version of the poster

Click to download a high-res version of the poster

FINALS (Partial Set)









[Courtesy of USA Wrestling]
LAS VEGAS, Nev. – Led by three individual champions and two runners-up, Oklahoma won the team title at the Cliff Keen Las Vegas Invitational on Saturday, 24.5 points ahead of runner-up Nebraska, which had one champion and four runners-up.

Oklahoma’s individual champions were past NCAA champions Kendric Maple (149) and Andrew Howe (174), along with Travis Rutt (197). Howe and Rutt are both transfers from Wisconsin, who sat out last season.

Maple scored an 8-3 win over second seed Jake Sueflohn of Nebraska. Howe edged second seed and returning champion Robert Kokesh of Nebraska, 3-2. Rutt scored a 6-4 win over Dan Mitchell of American.

The third past NCAA champion to win a title was two-time national champion Logan Stieber of Ohio State, who defeated Anthony Abidin of Nebraska by technical fall in the finals, 16-1. Stieber was named Outstanding Wrestler, scoring three pins, a technical fall and a major decision.

Nebraska’s champion was James Green, who edged Brian Realbuto of Cornell, 6-5 at 165 pounds.

Two freshmen won gold medals, Cornell’s Gabe Dean at 184 pounds and Michigan’s Adam Coon at 285 pounds.

Dean, who was seeded fourth, stopped seventh seed Tim Dudley of Nebraska in the finals with a 13-3 major decision. Coon, the No. 8 seed, came from behind to edge No. 2 seed J.T. Felix of Boise State in sudden victory overtime, 7-5.

Ohio State placed third, with two champions, Stieber and Johnni DuJulius at 133 pounds. DiJulius pinned Oklahoma’s Jarrod Patterson in the finals in 44 seconds.

Other individual champions were Nahshon Garrett of Cornell at 125 pounds and Nick Sulzer of Virginia at 165 pounds. Garrett beat Oklahoma’s Jarrod Patterson in the final, 6-1, and Sulzer stopped Michael Moreno of Iowa State in the finals, 5-2.

At Las Vegas, Nev., Dec. 7

Final Results

125 pounds
1st – Nahshon Garrett (Cornell) dec. Jarrod Patterson (Oklahoma), 6-1
3rd – Josh Martinez (Air Force) dec. David Terao (American), 4-1
5th – Dylan Peters (Northern Iowa) dec. Tyler Cox (Wyoming), 15-13
7th – Nick Roberts (Ohio State) dec. Earl Hall (Iowa State), 4-3

133 pounds
1st – Johnni DiJulius (Ohio State) pin Cody Brewer (Oklahoma), 0:44
3rd – Joe Colon (Northern Iowa) tech. fall Mark Grey (Cornell), 16-0
5th – Rossi Bruno (Michigan) dec. Jose Mendoza (CSU-Bakersfield), 6-4, s.v.
7th – Colton Rasche (Navy) dec. Colton McCrystal (Nebraska), 8-5

141 pounds
1st – Logan Stieber (Ohio State) tech. fall Anthony Abidin (Nebraska), 16-1, 2:06
3rd – Nick Lester (Oklahoma) dec. Luke Vaith (Hofstra), 4-0
5th – Dylan Phillipy (SF State) injury forfeit over Devin Carter (Virginia Tech)
7th – Gabe Moreno (Iowa State) injury forfeit over Joey Lazor (Northern Iowa)

149 pounds
1st – Kendric Maple (Oklahoma) dec. Jake Sueflohn (Nebraska), 8-3
3rd – Chris Villalonga (Cornell) dec. Scott Sakaguchi (Oregon State), 4-1
5th – Ian Paddock (Ohio State) dec. Eric Grajales (Michigan), 8-2
7th – Brian Hamman (NC State) injury forfeit over Blake Kastl (Cal Poly)

157 pounds
1st – James Green (Nebraska) dec. Brian Realbuto (Cornell), 6-5
3rd – R.J. Pena (Oregon State) dec. Thomas Gantt (NC State), 5-3
5th – Brian Murphy (Michigan) injury forfeit over Blaise Butler (Virginia)
7th – Robert Burg (Navy) dec. Randall Languis (Ohio State), 1-0

165 pounds
1st – Nick Sulzer (Virginia) dec. Michael Moreno (Iowa State), 5-2
3rd – Dan Yates (Michigan) pin Cooper Moore (Northern Iowa), 1:39
5th – Austin Wilson (Nebraska) dec. Dylan Palacio (Cornell), 9-8
7th – Joe Booth (Hofstra) maj. dec. Peyton Walsh (Navy), 13-4

174 pounds
1st – Andrew Howe (Oklahoma) dec. Robert Kokesh (Nebraska), 3-2
3rd – Stephen Doty (Virginia) pin Turtogtokh Luvsandorj (The Citadel), 6:27
5th – Lelund Weatherspoon (Iowa State) maj dec. Bryce Hammond (CSU Bakersfield), 15-5
7th – Austin Gabel (Virginia Tech) dec. Kevin Radford (Arizona State), 7-3

184 pounds
1st – Gabe Dean (Cornell) maj. dec. Tim Dudley (Nebraska), 13-3
3rd – Kenny Courts (Ohio State) pin Ophir Bernstein (Brown), 4:48
5th – Ben Stroh (Wyoming) injury forfeit over Jake Swartz (Boise State)
7th – Nick Vetterlein (Virginia Tech) dec. Tanner Weatherman (Iowa State), 3-2

197 pounds
1st – Travis Rutt (Oklahoma) dec. Dan Mitchell (American), 6-4
3rd – Cody Dixon (Boise State) injury forfeit over Taylor Meeks (Oregon State)
5th – Chris Penny (Virginia Tech) injury forfeit over Nick Heflin (Ohio State)
7th – Braden Atwood (Purdue) dec. Chris Heald (Michigan), 5-2

285 pounds
1st – Adam Coon (Michigan) dec. J.T. Felix (Boise State), 7-5, sv
3rd – Nick Gwiazdowski (NC State) dec. Adam Fager (Utah Valley), 4-3
5th – Ross Larson (Oklahoma) medical forfeit over Ethan Hayes (Virginia)
7th – Billy Smith (Rutgers) dec. Nick Tavanello (Ohio State), 4-2

Team Scores (top 20)
1. Oklahoma 154.5
2. Nebraska, 130.5
3. Ohio State, 119.5
4. Cornell, 115.5
5. Michigan, 108.5
6. Northern Iowa, 75.5
7. Virginia, 73
8. Iowa State, 62.5
9. NC State, 59.5
10. Virginia Tech, 56.5
11. Boise State, 56
12. Oregon State, 55
13. American, 48.5
14. tie Hofstra, 46
14. tie Wyoming, 46
16. Navy, 44
17. CSU Bakersfield, 40
18. Air Force, 31.5
19.tie Brown 26
19 tie San Francisco State, 26

Most Falls/Least Time: Ross Larson (Oklahoma)
OW – Logan Stieber (Ohio State), 141 pounds

About admin