Photos by: Mark Lundy for Wrestlers Are Warriors
(Click the thumbnail below to see the full photo set.)


Courtesy of Intermat Wrestling:


IOWA CITY, Iowa — The University of Iowa wrestling team fell to No. 4 Minnesota, 19-15, Saturday afternoon inside Carver-Hawkeye Arena. The teams split 10 matches, but Minnesota scored bonus points at 125 and 197 to hand No. 2 Iowa its first conference loss of the season.

“This is Big Ten, Division I wrestling,” said UI head coach Tom Brands. “We have to be sharper than that. We have to be ready to battle. It’s pretty clear that we regressed a little bit as a team, but made strides individually. That’s probably how you would sum it up.”

Iowa (11-2, 4-1) scored three wins over top 5 opponents. Eleventh-ranked Josh Dziewa escaped in the second period to earn a 1-0 win over No. 5 Chris Dardanes, and Mike Evans and Bobby Telford both worked overtime to earn wins at 174 and 285.

Evans, ranked No. 6 at 174, escaped in the first tiebreak period to defeat No. 5 Logan Storley, 2-1. Telford, ranked No. 3 at 285, finished a single leg with six seconds left in sudden victory to defeat No. 2 Tony Nelson, 3-1.

“I think those kind of wins are pretty important,” said Evans, who improved to 1-3 in his career against Storley. “Tony Nelson and Logan Storley have a few wins over both of us, and regardless of the team winning or losing, you have to go out there with the attitude that you’re going to win for your team and you’re going to win for yourself.”

The Hawkeyes also got wins at 133 and 165. Third-ranked Tony Ramos used a pair of takedowns and 1:30 riding time to defeat No. 9 David Thorn, 6-2, at 133. Nick Moore rode Danny Zilverberg the entire second period and added two escapes in the third to hold on for a 3-2 win at 165.

The Gophers’ (8-1, 5-1) opened with bonus points at 125 and never trailed in the dual. Sam Brancale ended No. 3 Thomas Gilman’s nine-match win streak with a first period fall. No 3 Nick Dardanes broke a 6-6 tie with a 5-3 decision over No. 13 Brody Grothus at 149, and No. 14 Dylan Ness reversed No. 2 Derek St. John in the final 30 seconds to win 7-4 at 157.

Decisions from Moore and Evans knotted the score, 12-12, but No. 9 Kevin Steinhaus defeated Sammy Brooks, 8-6, at 184, and top-ranked Scott Schiller clinched the dual with a 16-5 major decision at 197.

Iowa returns to the mat Friday, Jan. 31, to face No. 16 Northwestern at 7 p.m. (CT) in Evanston, Ill.

Notes: Attendance was 10,588… Tony Ramos improved to 33-0 all-time inside Carver-Hawkeye Arena… Josh Dziewa recorded his third win this season over a top-five opponent… Evans and Telford earned their first career wins against Storley (1-3) and Nelson (1-5)… St. John lost for the first time inside Carver-Hawkeye Arena (30-1)… it was Minnesota’s first win at Carver-Hawkeye Arena since 2007… Iowa had won 26 straight conference duals at home.

125 – Sam Brancale (UM) pinned #3 Thomas Gilman (IA), 2:03; 0-6
133 – #3 Tony Ramos (IA) dec. #9 David Thorn (UM), 6-2; 3-6
141 – #11 Josh Dziewa (IA) dec. #5 Chris Dardanes (UM), 1-0; 6-6
149 – #3 Nick Dardanes (UM) dec. #13 Brody Grothus (IA); 5-3; 6-9
157 – #14 Dylan Ness (UM) dec. #2 Derek St. John (IA), 7-4; 6-12
165 – #4 Nick Moore (IA) dec. Danny Zilverberg (UM), 3-2; 9-12
174 – #6 Mike Evans (IA) dec. #5 Logan Storley (UM), 2-1 (TB1); 12-12
184 – #9 Kevin Steinhaus (UM) dec. Sammy Brooks (IA), 8-6; 12-15
197 – #1 Scott Schiller (UM) dec. #16 Nathan Burak (IA), 16-5; 12-19
285 – #3 Bobby Telford (IA) dec. #2 Tony Nelson (UM), 3-1; 15-19

About admin